Senior Researchers

Center Director:      Prof. José M. Asua
General Manager:   Idoia Azaldegui

  Name Position Contact Research
Prof. José M. Asua Center Director +34 943 018181
jm.asua@ehu.es

Fundamental investigation of industrially important polymerization processes.

Dr. M. Ali Aboudzadeh Post-Doc +34 943 018475
mohammadali.aboudzadeh@ehu.eus
Verónica Alvarez PhD Student +34 943 018474
veronica.alvarez@ehu.eus
Prof. David Mecerreyes Vice Director +34 943 018018
david.mecerreyes@ehu.es

Innovative Polymer Chemistry, polymeric ionic liquids, organic catalysis, polymers for Energy and Environment.

Dr. Miren Aguirre Post-Doc +34 943 018476
miren.aguirre@ehu.es

Synthesis of hybrid nanocomposites of cerium oxide/acrylates with improved UV absorption properties.

Hegoi Amestoy PhD Student +34 946 017318
hegoi.amestoy@ehu.es

Polymer nano-composite, Carbon nanotube, Polymer radiopaque composite, Surface functionalization , tissue engineering, porous scaffolds.

Prof. Aurelio Mateo-Alonso Senior Researcher +34 943 506066
amateo@polymat.eu

Molecular, low-dimensional and supramolecular materials based on polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons.

Prof. Thomas Schäfer Senior Researcher +34 943 018266
thomas.schafer@ehu.es

Tunable membranes and stimuli-responsive membranes, mass transport and interfacial phenomena in membrane separation processes, biomolecular recognition in non-conventional solvents.

Dr. Ziortza Aguirreurreta PhD Student +34 943 018474
ziortzakatherine.aguirreurreta@ehu.es

High solids content latexes with migratory free surfactants

Idoia Arandia PhD Student + 34 943 018191
idoia.arandia@ehu.eus

The study of the structure and crystallization of biodegradable isodimorphic copolyesters.

Prof. Jose R. Leiza Senior Researcher +34 943 015329
jrleiza@ehu.es

His current research interest is focused on: waterborne polymer/inorganic hybrid nanocomposites, polymer reaction engineering aspects of polymerization in dispersed media (kinetics, modeling, high solids content formulations), molecularly imprinted polymer.

Alejandro J. Arzac PhD Student +34 943 018474
alejandrojose.arzac@ehu.es

Design of waterborne nanocomposites polymer-Graphene.

Dr. Nicholas Ballard Research Associate +34 943 018475
nicholas.ballard@polymat.eu

Focused on new techniques for producing polymeric particles with controllable microstructure and morphology

Prof. María Paulis Senior Researcher +34 943 018481
maria.paulis@ehu.es

Production of waterborne polymer/polymer and polymer/inorganic nanocomposite dispersion & molecularly imprinted polymers (MIPs) for biotechnological applications.

Dr. Audrey Bonnefond Post-Doc +34 943 018475
audrey.bonnefond@ehu.es

Production and characterization of waterborne polymer/inorganic nanocomposite dispersions for coating and adhesive applications.

Adrián Badía Rodrigo PhD Student +34 943 018474
adrian.badia@ehu.eus
Prof. Jacqueline Forcada Senior Researcher +34 943 018182
jacqueline.forcada@ehu.es

Synthesis, characterization, modeling, and biotechnological applications of functionalized polymeric and hybrid nanoparticles, and biocompatible and biodegradable nanogels.

Dr. Marco Carini Post-Doc + 34 943 50 60 67
marco_carini002@ehu.es

Organic synthesis and supramolecular chemistry of azaacenes for the preparation of material for electronic applications.

Massimo Bandiera PhD Student +34 943 018474
massimo.bandiera@ehu.eus
Prof. Jose-Ramon Sarasua Senior Researcher +34 946 014271
jr.sarasua@ehu.es

Biodegradable polymers, polylactides, micro/nano structural analysis, crystallinity, polymer composites, polymer blends, mechanical properties, thermoplastic processes, regenerative medicine.

Dr. Diego Cortizo Post-Doc +34 943 50 60 67
diego_cortizo001@ehu.es

Synthesis and characterisation of conjugated polymers based on twisted pyrene fused aza-acenes and heteroacenes derivatives.

Aitor Barquero Salaberria PhD Student +34 943 018474
aitor.barquero@ehu.eus
Prof. Radmila Tomovska Senior Researcher +34 943 018482
radmila_tomovska@ehu.es

Photopolymerization

Dr. Jorge Fernández Post-Doc +34 946 017318
jorge.fernandez@ehu.es

Ring opening polymerization, biodegradable thermoplastic elastomers, biodegradation, tissue engineering.

Andere Basterretxea PhD Student 34 943 01 88 46
andere.basterrechea@ehu.eus

The design of more sustainable catalysts for the synthesis of polyamides and polyesters and the study of possible biomedical applications.

Dr. Shaghayegh Hamzehlou Post-Doc +34 943 018474
shaghayegh.hamzehlou@ehu.es

Kinetics and topology as microstructure of polyurethane/acrylic hybrid latex synthesized by miniemulsion polymerization using Monte Carlo simulations.

Dr. Helena Isla Post-Doc Tel:+ 943 50 60 68
helena.isla@polymat.eu

Her current research is focused on the synthesis of covalent organic frameworks.

Amaury Bossion PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
amaury.bossion@ehu.eus

Working on the organo-catalyzed synthesis of isocyanate-free polyurethanes from renewable sources in water

Ainhoa Lejardi Senior Researcher +34 946017371
ainhoa.lejardi@ehu.es

Poly (vinyl alcohol), chitosan, graft copolymers, polymer miscibility, hydrogels.

Dr. Nerea Casado Post doctoral researcher +34 943 01 88 46
nerea_casado001@ehu.es

Her research is focused on Innovative Polymers for Energy Storage.

Emiliano Meaurio Senior Researcher 946 014077
emiliano.meaurio@ehu.es

Polymer/polymer complexes, polymer blends, specific interactions, structural analysis of crystalline polymers by FTIR, molecular modeling, synthesis, graft copolymers.

Dr. Aitor Larrañaga Post-Doc +34 946 017318
aitor.larranagae@ehu.es

Porous scaffolds, polymer composites, bioglass, surface functionalization by plasma, protein grafting, electrospinning, tissue engineering.

Stefano Chimenti PhD Student +34 943 018474
stefano_chimenti001@ehu.es

Development of high hydrophobic coatings with anticorrosive properties through the addition of different nanofillers.

Dr. Gracia Patricia Leal Post-Doc +34 943 018476
graciapatricia.leal@ehu.es

Synthesis, characterization and properties of waterborne graphene polymer composites with adhesive properties.

Ester Zuza Senior Researcher +34 946 013925
ester.zuza@ehu.es

Biodegradable polyesters, polylactides, stereocomplexation, miscibility, specific interactions, crystallinity, molecular fragility, composites, radiopacity, polydopamine, mechanical properties, biodegradation, thermoplastic transformation procedures, high temperature thermoplastics (HTTP).

Silvia Collavini PhD Student + 34 943 01 5440
silvia.collavini@polymat.eu

Investigating new materials suitable for Perovskite-based Solar Cells.

Dr. Jon Maiz Post-Doc +34 943 01 53 34
jon.maiz@polymat.eu
Isabel del Agua PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
isabel.delagua@ehu.es

Synthesis and applications of biocompatible polymeric electronically active materials.

Dr. Nevena Marinova Post-Doc + 34 943 01 5440
nevena.marinova@polymat.eu

Perovskite materials for photovoltaic application as well as design and synthesis of new organic materials for perovskite solar cells.

Idoia Azaldegui General Manager +34 943 50 60 63
idoia.azaldegui@polymat.eu

Management.

Dr. Marta Martínez-Abadía Post-Doc +34 943 506068
marta.martinez@polymat.eu

Synthesis and characterization of covalent organic frameworks.

Alicia de San Luis PhD Student +34 943 018474
alicia.desanluis@ehu.eus
Izaskun Balza Administrative Assistant +34 943 50 60 61
izaskun.balza@polymat.eu

Administration

Dr. Jose Ignacio Martínez Post-Doc 34 943 50 60 67
joseignacio.martinez@polymat.eu
Dr. Mónica Moreno European Project Manager +34 943 506065
monica.moreno@polymat.eu
Antonio Domínguez Alfaro PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
antoni.dominguez@polymat.eu
Dr. Antonio Veloso MALDI-TOF Technician +943 50 6067
antonio_veloso001@ehu.es

Characterization of polymers by MALDI-TOF Autoflex mass spectrometer.

Sebastian M. Dron PhD Student +34 943 018474
sebastian_dron001@ehu.eus
Dr. Luca Porcarelli Post-Doc +34 943 01 88 46
luca_porcarelli001@ehu.eus
Iñaki Emaldi PhD Student +34 943 018474
inaki.emaldi@ehu.eus
Dr. Alberto Riaño Post-Doc 34 943 50 60 67
alberto.riano@polymat.eu
Dr. Jaime Martín Research Associate +34 943 018959
jaime.martin@polymat.eu

Fundamental aspects of functional polymers: structural and phase behavior of organic semiconductors, crystallization, liquid crystals, soft-photonics, low dimensionality (confinement) effects on polymer materials.

Dr. Fernando Ruipérez Research Associate +34 943 01 5985
fernando.ruiperez@polymat.eu

Simulation at the quantum scale of structural properties, reactivity and design of polymers and catalysts.

Asier Fernandez De Añastro PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
asier.fernandez@polymat.eu
Dr. Maitane Salsamendi Post-Doc +34 943 018475
maitane.salsamendi@ehu.es

New Ionic Polymers for bio applications and 3D printing of polymeric materials.

Irma Flores PhD Student + 34 943 018191
irmafc_86@hotmail.com

Biodegradable polyesters from natural or waste sources.

Iñaki Gomez PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
inaki.gomez@polymat.eu

His primary research topic is focused in the development of new sulfur copolymers to enhance the performance of Li-S batteries.

 

Dr. Ana B. Sanchez Post-Doc +34 943 015323
ana_sanchez@ehu.es

Polymers for Bioelectronics, New PEDOTs, IONGELS, redox polymers.

Dr. Haritz Sardon Research Associate +34 943 015303
haritz.sardon@ehu.es

Sustainable polymerization, organocatalysis, polymers for nanomedicine

Cristian Gozálvez PhD Student +34 943 506068
cristian.gozalvez@polymat.eu

Organic synthesis, designing and preparing new azaacenes derivates as active materials for opto-electronic applications

Dr. Alexandre Simula Post-Doc +34 943 018475
alex.simula@polymat.eu
Coralie Jehanno PhD Student + 34 943 015303
coralie.jehanno@ehu.eus

Chemical recycling of polymers using organocatalysis.

Dr. Ester Verde Post-Doc +34 943 01 88 46
mariaester.verde@ehu.eus
Elodie Limousin PhD Student +34 943 018474
elodie.limousin@polymat.eu

The effect of particle morphology on film morphology.

Dr. Sebastian Völker Post-Doc + 34 943 01 5440
sebastian.voelker@polymat.eu

Synthesis of new organic materials for their incorporation in perovskite-based solar cells as well as the modification of perovskites.

Diego López PhD Student +34 943 50 60 68
diego.lopez@polymat.eu

Computational study of organic systems relevant in Materials Science, such as organic diradicals, with applications in optical devices and metal-free batteries.

Daniele Mantione PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
daniele.mantione@ehu.es

Synthesis of novel conductive organic bio-polymeric materials.

Javier Mateos PhD Student +34 943 506067
javier.mateos@polymat.eu
Leire Meabe PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
leire.meabe@polymat.eu

New polymer electrolytes based on aliphatic polycarbonates for batteries.

Giulia Magi PhD Student
giulia.maggi@polymat.eu

Molecular dynamics simulations of interfacial phenomena in polymer synthesis, in particular, the interactions between different surfactants and latex particles.

Samane Mehravar PhD Student :+34 943 018474
samane.mehravar@polymat.eu

The Role of Grafting on Particle Morphology and Film Properties of Polyurethane-Polyacrylate Hybrid Dispersion.

Valentina Montagna PhD Student +34 943 506067
valentina_montagna001@ehu.es

Her current research topics are focused on two main lines: the synthesis of surfactants based on azaacenes for CNTs dispersion, and the synthesis of precursors for nanoribbons.

Juan Pedro Mora Fuentes PhD Student +34 943 506068
juanpedro.mora@polymat.eu

Synthesis, functionalization and characterization of carbon compounds, more specifically with fullerenes and endohedral fullerenes).

Sil Nevejans PhD Student +34 943 018474
sil.nevejans@ehu.eus

The synthesis and characterization of waterborne polymer dispersions with self-healing properties.

Sayrung Noppalit PhD Student +34 943 018846
sayrung.noppalit@polymat.eu
Beñat Olave PhD Student +34 943 018399
benat.olave@polymat.eu
Andrea Oyarzabal PhD Student + 34 943 018191
andrea.oyarzabal@ehu.es

Preparation and characterization of polymer based nanocomposites for controlled drug release.

Jordana K. Palacios Gutiérrez PhD Student +34 943 01 53 32
jordana.palaciosg@ehu.es

The aim of her research is the structure – properties relationship of multiphase crystalizable polymer materials: immiscible blends with nanoparticles and biodegradable block copolymers, with special emphasis on morphology and crystallization phenomenon.

Jorge Pascual PhD Student + 34 943 01 5439
jorge.pascual@polymat.eu

Synthesis of new organic materials for their incorporation in perovskite-based solar cells as well as the preparation of Photovoltaic Devices.

Bertha T. Pérez PhD Student +34 943 018474
bperez044@ikasle.ehu.eus
Ricardo Arpad Pérez Camargo PhD Student + 34 943 018191
ricardo_perez001@ehu.es

He focuses his research towards poly (ε-caprolactone) with linear and cyclic topology and their blends with carbon nanotubes under the supervision of Dr. Alejandro Müller.

Iliane Rafaniello PhD Student +34 943 018399
iliane.rafaniello@polymat.eu
Noushin Rajabalinia PhD Student +34 943 018474
noushin_rajabalina001@ehu.eus

Working on ¨Cross-sectorial real-time sensing, advanced control and optimization of batch processes saving energy and raw materials¨ under supervision of Professor Jose M. Asua of Professor Joze R.Leiza at POLYMAT institute of University of Basque Country.

Naroa Sadaba PhD Student +34 943 015323
naroa.sadaba@polymat.eu
Maryam Safari PhD Student +34 943 01 53 32
maryam.safari@polymat.eu

Synthesize multiphasic biobased polyesters via confinement method and also characterization.

Eva Sánchez PhD Student +34 946 017318
evagloria.sanchez@ehu.es

Controlled drug release systems based on polymeric devices.

Gordana Siljanovska Petreska PhD Student +34 943 018474

Her research is focused on temperature responsive adhesives.

Esther Udabe PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
esther.udabe@polymat.eu
Dr. Ehsan Mehravar Postdoctoral researcher +34 943 018474
Ehsan.mehravar@ehu.es

Synthesis and properties of comb-like acrylic based polymers containing nano-sized crystalline domain.

Silvia Valero PhD Student + 34 943 01 5440
silvia.valero@polymat.eu

Synthesis of new organic polymers for their incorporation in perovskite-based solar cells.

Alexander Yuen PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
alexanderyikming.yuen@ehu.es

Organocatalysis and new polymers for bioelectronics.

Nerea Zaldua PhD Student + 34 943 018191
nerea.zaldua@ehu.es

The study of the structure, nucleation, crystallization and crystallization kinetics of semi-crystalline materials and nanocomposites.

Jone Muñoz Senior Researcher +34 946014078
jone.munoz@ehu.es

Complex polymer systems, structural analysis, atomic force microscopy, thermal characterization, rheology, 3D printing.

Prof. Juan Luis Delgado Senior Researcher +34 943 50 60 64
juanluis.delgado@polymat.eu

Currently he is focused on the preparation of new materials for their incorporation in perovskite-based solar devices.

Prof. Alejandro J. Müller Senior Researcher +34 943018191
alejandrojesus.muller@ehu.es

His fields of interests include: polymer solution rheology, structured fluids, morphology, nucleation, crystallization and crystallization kinetics of semi-crystalline materials and of multiphasic materials (in particular polymer blends, block copolymers, biopolymers and nano-composites).

Prof. Ronen Zangi Senior Researcher +34 943 01 8112
r.zangi@ikerbasque.org

Computational studies of chemical and biological systems in condensed phases, under confinements, and at interfaces. In addition, conformations and free energies of synthetic and biological macromolecules, such as DNA-protein recognition and ligand-receptor binding.

Prof. Agurtzane Mugica Assistant Professor +34 943 015 469
agurtzane.mugica@ehu.es

Theoretical and experimental study of polymer blends, their interactions and interphases; thermal properties, morphology, nucleation, crystallization and crystallization kinetics of semi-crystalline materials and of multiphasic materials (in particular polymer blends, block copolymers, biopolymers and nano-composites)

Prof. Manoli Zubitur Associate Professor +34 943 017180
manuela.zubitur@ehu.eus

Her fields of interest include also the preparation and characterization of polymer based nanocomposites for controlled drug release.

Prof. Amaia Butrón Senior Researcher +34 946 014994
amaia.butron@ehu.eus
Aurélie Destephen PhD Student +34 943 018474
aurelie.destephen@polymat.eu
Dr. Leticia Pardo Post-Doc +34 943 018475
leticiamaria.pardo@ehu.eus
Sara Marina Barbier PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
sara.marina@polymat.eu
Nerea Jiménez PhD Student +34 943 018474
nerea.jimenez@polymat.eu
Fermín Elizalde PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
fermin.elizalde@polymat.eu
Mikel Irigoyen PhD Student +34 943018186
mikel.irigoyen@polymat.eu
Dr. Nicolas Zivic Post-doc +34 943 01 88 46
nicolas.zivic@polymat.eu
Alvaro Gómez López PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
alvaro.gomez@ehu.eus
Prof. Maria J. Barandiaran Senior Researcher+34 943 015330
mariaje.barandiaran@ehu.es

Polymer reaction engineering aspects of polymerization in dispersion media.